50 important tips for those, who goes to sri lanka

Charming sri lanka: around the island by train

Candy

You arrive in Colombo. We would not recommend spending a lot of time in the capital: the city does not reflect the charm of the island. Go straight to the train station and buy a ticket to Kandy. Drive about three hours.

This city, where kings once lived, is located in the very center of the island and is its cultural and religious heart.

Things to do

  • Visit the Temple of the Tooth Relic, which is a whole complex, which includes museums and temples. Divine tooth is kept in a gold box. If you plan your trip in August, you can get to Esala Perahera - the festival of the Holy Tooth. Music is playing, everyone is dancing, and dozens of decorated elephants walk along the streets. The tooth itself is brought out for everyone to see. Sri Lankans believe, that such a ceremony will contribute to the affairs of the country.
  • Climb the hill to the huge Buddha statue of Bahiravokanda Vihara and admire the panorama of the city.
  • Walk around Lake Kandy. This artificial lake about a kilometer long appeared by order of the last king of Kandy, Sri Vikram Rajasinghe, at the beginning of the 19th century.. The ruler's harem was located on a small island in the middle of the lake. You will also see the monastery and the royal baths. Geese can be found around the pond, pelicans and herons.
  • Walk through the Udawattakele nature reserve, to get to know Sri Lankan flora and fauna: 300-summer vine, mini palm rattan, orchids, vines, ceylon macaques, porcupines, mongoose, emerald parrot and dove.

Train ticket price from Colombo to Kandy in second class 2$. To have time to explore the city, we recommend staying one night.

Hotels: a night in a hostel for one person will cost from 132 rubles, In a hotel 3* - from 693 rubles.

Rate article

50 важных советов для тех, кто едет на шри ланку

Очаровательная шри-ланка: по острову на поезде

Канди

Прилетаете вы в Коломбо. Тратить много времени в столице мы бы не рекомендовали: город не отражает очарования острова. Отправляйтесь сразу на вокзал и покупайте билет до Канди. Ехать около трёх часов.

Этот город, в котором когда-то жили короли, находится в самом центре острова и является его культурным и религиозным сердцем.

Чем заняться

  • Посетить Храм Зуба Будды, представляющий собой целый комплекс, в который входят музеи и храмы. Божественный зуб хранится в золотой шкатулке. Если запланируете путешествие на август, сможете попасть на Эсала Перахера — фестиваль святого Зуба. Играет музыка, все танцуют, а по улицам гуляют десятки разукрашенных слонов. Сам зуб выносится на всеобщее обозрение. Ланкийцы верят, что такая церемония будет способствовать делам страны.
  • Взобраться на холм к громадной статуе Будды Бахиравоканда Вихара и полюбоваться панорамой города.
  • Пройтись вокруг озера Канди. Это искусственное озеро длиной около километра появилось по приказу последнего короля Канди Шри Викрама Раджасингхе в начале XIX века. На небольшом острове посреди озера располагался гарем правителя. Также вы увидите монастырь и королевские купальни. Вокруг пруда можно встретить гусей, пеликанов и цапель.
  • Прогуляться по заповеднику Удаваттакеле, чтобы познакомиться с ланкийской флорой и фауной: 300-летняя виноградная лоза, мини пальмы-ротанг, орхидеи, лианы, цейлонские макаки, дикобразы, мангусты, изумрудные попугай и голубь.

Стоимость билета на поезд от Коломбо до Канди во втором классе 2$. Чтобы успеть осмотреть город, рекомендуем остаться на одну ночь.

Отели: ночь в хостеле за одного человека обойдётся от 132 рублей, в отеле 3* — от 693 рублей.

Оцените статью